Skip to content

Vacation Remembered

June 28, 2011
tags: ,

a flight of sparklies at Domaine Carneros

My quail friends have written up our recent visit to the Napa/Sonoma Valley here.  I can’t take any credit for the fabulous cooking that went on in the little cottage we stayed in, nor is this the kind of everyday eating I would recommend to my health & fitness friends (you’ll notice a serious dearth of fruits and vegetables). But it was vacation eating of the highest order, and yes, there was a little bit of wine drinking as well. One of my favorite stops was Domaine Carneros, where I was the only one with the will to order a whole flight, and for my trouble I got an extra glass of the best sparkly I’ve ever had.

I’m still not sure whether the funny chap at Merryvale was telling the truth when he said his name is “Moe” (a little too perfect for his personality), whether the Senior Wine Educator at Carneros is called that because he knows so much about wine or because of his age, or whether the tour guide at Del Dotto actually works there at all. But it was a great trip with great food, great wine, and great friends. Read more at Beyond the Quail.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 9:00 pm

    Hey, I made an apple pie. That must count. And we ate blackberries with the cheeses. See? Antioxidants.

    • June 28, 2011 9:29 pm

      It’s true. I managed to have blackberries and the strawberries from the farmer’s market every morning for breakfast, and that spinach salad was great (although I think the cheese and bacon are largely what made it so). Wine has antioxidants, too, so really it’s like we were on a health kick.

  2. June 28, 2011 10:29 pm

    I completely forgot about the spinach salad! That was really good.

Leave a Reply

