Skip to content

friday collection

September 16, 2011

Things I’d like to share with you:

I found this really cool publication that some of you Texans might like: The Texas Independent. In other Texas news, Senate Bill 6 allows state money to be spent on supplementary instructional materials that have not been approved by the School Board, which is cool because it might give schools and teachers the chance to teach, you know, actual history.

For a few days, I managed not to read anything about the new Sarah Palin book. That was cool. I’m not even going to link here to any of the stuff I inevitably accidentally came across. I have also managed to avoid stories about the doomed jobs bill. I honestly believe this Congress combined with this President will not ever be able to get anything done so I’m not going to torture myself (or you) with worrying about it. I am worried about jobs. Just not about the jobs bill.

I have still not managed to see any of the horror movies that are out that I want to see. Are they good? I did finally watch Paul (which shows you how behind I am), a hilarious alien-encounter movie. It contains lots of nice shout outs to the afficionados. Worth a watch.

A new study establishes that fetuses can’t feel pain until 35-37 weeks. I wrote about the ridiculousness of using fetal pain as means to restrict choice here.

I published a review of whether Trojan Woman (after Euripides) at the Getty Villa is feminist or not.

Finally, my adorable dog is home and recovering.

I’ve almost given up getting you to talk back. But I have been told I’m stubborn and would hate to disappoint. So tell me, what did you read/see/do/learn/think of interest this week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 6:02 pm

    I did avoid the new SP book for a good amount of time, then gave in and read a short article. I’m still cleaning the vomit.

    Some of my favorite reading this week: the Special Olympics will be hosted by LA next year! Also the comments on the LAFPI blog, but that may just be because I *finally* got people to talk back on there. You’d think with all the controversial issues you discuss, people would comment. I find that actually putting opinions out to the public scares a lot of people, though.

  2. Henry permalink
    September 19, 2011 11:59 am

    I recently re-read “Brave New World,” which remains exceptional. But then I read this NYT article about the proliferation of offspring from a single sperm donor, and it got me thinking a bit. http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/06/health/06donor.html?pagewanted=all
    I don’t want to dilute the issue, but when do we have to expand our definition of “reproductive rights?”

Leave a Reply

