Skip to content

friday collection

September 23, 2011

I know you’ve all been holding your breath, awaiting a decision on the question of the high school reunion. Let it be known that I am going. I have purchased both my very expensive ticket to the Saturday night event and my plane ticket. (I should have factored the upcoming haircut and brow wax into the cost, but I needed them anyway.) Turns out many of my girl friends’ husbands didn’t want to come either, so I won’t be the only one there solo.

In other news:

My friend Cindy Marie Jenkins‘ project MYTHistories, which attempts answer or address the question “how is history written and mythology made,” is cool.

The Park51 mosque opened and civilization didn’t end.

The Center for Immigration Studies reported that 81% of the jobs created under Texas Governor Rick Perry went to immigrants (legal and illegal).

I made my husband watch both “The New Girl” and “Charlie’s Angels” with me, but neither of us liked either of them. Reviews forthcoming.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    September 23, 2011 9:42 pm

    So excited to see you at the reunion! I loved The New Girl, but maybe it’s only because I have a girl crush on Zoey Deschanel. 🙂

    • September 24, 2011 12:52 pm

      I love her too! I mainly thought the writing wasn’t good enough for her. And I think the whole “puppy-dog-tails boys meet sugar-and-spice girl who teaches them how to be nice” thing has been done enough by Apatow. If you’re not as funny as he is, why try to retell his favorite story?

Leave a Reply

