Skip to content

friday collection (for reals): climate change, pro-choice posts, and fear fests

October 21, 2011

Things you should know:

In the spirit of the season, I’m trying to decide whether to watch Let Me In or The House of the Devil tonight.

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality commissioned a report on rising sea levels, then deleted all references to climate change from it. The scientists who wrote it have withdrawn it, saying they’re not willing to have it published with the deletions.

This climate change skeptic set out to prove that climate scientists had been doing it wrong, only to prove even more clearly than they had that climate change is real.

I am very amused by this new Barbie.

I did not know that women with children have more abortions than anyone else.

Speaking of, my post 10 Questions for Anti-Choice Candidates, which bounced off this Amanda Marcotte piece about Herman Cain’s incoherence on abortion, got over 4,000 hits in two days. It has 1,022 Facebook shares and counting. Readers have added a number of great questions.

Also, I went to my high school reunion and I had a blast! I was so worried about nothing. The experience confirmed my suspicion that what I hated about high school was the culture and not the people. I was really happy to see all of the people, and really sad to learn that one of us had killed himself. I guess that’s the sort of news you get more often as you get older. The boy in question was someone I “went with” in 6th grade (in fact I think he was my first kiss) and who was a dear friend for all of high school. I am very sorry for his loss.

For the most part, though, everyone seems to be doing great, and I think there might have been some kind of fountain-of-youth juice in the water there, because everybody looks great, too. However, I’m still glad I don’t live in Texas anymore.

The trip also reminded me of how very angry I was during high school, and how very not angry I am now. I mean, I get angry about politics, but not about my own life, and that really makes me a different person. It makes me a person who likes other people more, and more importantly, it makes me a person who trusts other people more. It’s nice, not living in fear. Except for tonight, which I will hopefully spend being horrified.

Oh, and also, I’m directing an adaptation of a certain classic American novel in LA, and I’m doing it soon. If you want to be involved, let me know! We need actors, designers, stage managers, and money.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

