Skip to content

finding your inner Texan: the language

July 2, 2012

Though I won’t be able to afford my Texas road trip this summer, I’m still asking myself, what is that thing that makes Texas Texas and Texans Texans? My first step is talking in my Texas accent and using Texan phrases, but the only Texan phrase I can remember is ya’ll! So let’s get this thing interactive: post your favorite Southern and/or Texan phrase in the comments. Be sure to use it in a sentence so we all know what it means!

If you’re having trouble thinking of something, remember the last time you watched football with friends. What were some of the things people said?

♦ Common things people say about Texas are also welcome, ie “don’t mess with …”, “Texas is so big that …”, or “As they say in Sugar Land …”.

See here for finding your inner Texan Question 2.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 2:49 pm

    Okay, I’ll start you out. “Down to.” As in: “I was down to the Winn Dixie the other day…”

    • July 2, 2012 5:48 pm

      Ivins is totes my fave, but that’s cheating! What Texan things do you say, Timmy?

  2. July 2, 2012 6:01 pm

    “Y’all” flows like a river from my tongue.

  3. Lisa heise permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:01 pm

    Fix’in to…
    Hold your horses….
    I will think of more I am sure!

  4. Gretchen permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:17 pm

    One could write an entire phrasebook using just the things my in-laws say! A few of my faves include: 1. “Big as Dallas!” (as opposed to “little as a minute”; 2. “Ain’t no swings on this playground!” (which means “quit hem-hawing around and make a decision” — use your context clues for the definition of “hem-hawing”; 3. “Scared Dog don’t make no pups!” (obviously, this means don’t be a wuss!); And finally, 4. “Jalapeno!” (The foody’s version of “Hallelujah!” — this one is actually from my Mom.
    How you like them apples?
    -G$

  5. George permalink
    July 3, 2012 3:30 pm

    come on in and set a spell.

  6. George permalink
    July 3, 2012 3:30 pm

    He’s over yonder.

  7. George permalink
    July 3, 2012 3:37 pm

    I would leave another reply but I am fixin’ to go to the store.

  8. Jen Hairston permalink
    July 3, 2012 4:28 pm

    Texans can turn one word into three. Another becomes a whole nuther.

  9. Ina permalink
    July 3, 2012 4:38 pm

    When guests leave, the proper thing to say is, “Y’all come back, ya hear!

  10. Ina permalink
    July 3, 2012 4:41 pm

    When you invite guests to come to your house you say, “Y’all come on over pretty soon.”

  11. Jennifer permalink
    July 3, 2012 6:04 pm

    My mom always said, “You just hide and watch!” I’ve never heard that one outside of Texas. LOL.

  12. Gretchen permalink
    July 4, 2012 9:19 am

    The response I know to “How hot is it?” is R-rated — maybe I’ll send it to you in a message.
    @ Jennifer: What does “hide and watch” mean?

  13. Jennifer permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:58 pm

    Gretchen- It is sort of a preemptive “I told you so”. For example, I’m going to Dallas in a couple of weeks. I guarantee you that my sister will pick a fight with me and post about it on Facebook. Don’t believe me? Just hide and watch!

  14. George permalink
    July 5, 2012 9:53 am

    Any soft drink was referred to as a “coke”.

  15. George permalink
    July 5, 2012 9:56 am

    Take a look at plays by Preston Jones. The Texas Trilogy consists of “LuAnn Hampton Laverty Oberlander”, “Last Meeting of the Knights of the White Magnolia” and “The Oldest Living Graduate” to hear how the words and phrases were actually used.

Leave a Reply

