Skip to content

finding your inner Texan: the music

July 4, 2012

I’m celebrating July 4th by gathering more data on my home country: Texas.

Question #2: What’s your favorite Texas music? Obvs I’m relying on those of you from Austin for news of what’s hot right now, but I also want to know, what music makes you think of Texas? What are your favorite songs about Texas?

Is Texas music different from Southern music? What did you listen to growing up and what do you listen to now? Whenever possible provide a link so we can all listen!

When I think of Texas music, I think of Stevie Ray Vaughn and ZZ Top. Of late I can’t get that one lyric from Tush out of my head: “I been bad. I been good. Dallas, Texas, Hollywood … I ain’t asking for much.”

(Oh and if you haven’t already, don’t forget to answer Question 1.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike W permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:38 pm

    There is a pride that Texas songs have that others don’t. Country & Western music is the main genre with ‘Texas’ Country probably (at best) being a sub-set. The writers and performers are striving to appeal to the pride of their Texas audience…often because they are Texan as well. The best examples are George Strait, Tracy Lawrence and others. George Strait is likely the best at singing about Texas.

    One thing I will say about the greatness of some Texas songs is that no matter where I am, a good Texan song can make me feel like I am there again. Instant connection to my Texan soul.

  2. Mike W permalink
    July 4, 2012 3:40 pm

    Here is my Spotify for Texas…yes I had one already!

  3. Gretchen permalink
    July 5, 2012 1:33 pm

    My husband and I went to a Robert Earl Keen concert on our first date in Aggieland. Needless to say, I’m a huge fan!!! Not only is he an Aggie, but he was Lyle Lovett’s roommate for a while.

    Attached is the link to the video for one of the funniest songs and one of my faves: “Merry Christmas from the Family”. (My husband’s favorite at the time was “Corpus Christi Bay”, which I also love…)

    http://www.cmt.com/videos/robert-earl-keen/39118/merry-christmas-from-the-family.jhtml?xrs=share_copy

  4. July 5, 2012 2:01 pm

    This article is great for discovering “red dirt” music: http://blogs.dallasobserver.com/dc9/2012/07/kings_of_the_red_dirt_hill_the.php

Leave a Reply

