Skip to content

news from out West

July 9, 2012

I promised that while I’m not using Facebook to air my every thought, I’d use this blog to keep subscribers updated on my goings on about town. Ya’ll are so sweet to care about me, and I get so much from your support. Thank you!

I have finally figured out what’s so funny about The Big Bang Theory. In fact, I am either in love with Dr. Sheldon Cooper or merely convinced that I am, minus the genius part, much like him. Don’t be surprised if from now on I answer the question, “How have you been?” with “Well, my existence is a continuum, so I have been what I am at each point in the implied time period.”

Texas had a good day, by Texas standards:

TEXAS: Goldarnit you meddling commies, we ain’t gonna go along with your idea of healthcare reform!
FEDS: So you don’t want the money set aside to help you reform healthcare?
TEXAS (sheepishly): Oh no, we’ll take that. We just won’t use it to insure people.

Tomkat settled their divorce in less than two weeks, but my ex won’t let me go yet. The funniest part was when his lawyer claimed my giving-it-away-for-free activist writing for the Ms. Magazine Blog, which as a non-profit does not pay any of its blog writers, constitutes “employment.” Today I got an invitation from the MIL to connect via LinkedIn. Is there an Emily Post response to that? “I am forced regretfully to decline your kind invitation on account of the time you tried to blackmail me.”

Tomorrow Los Angeles’ coolest feminists will be having a WAM! Ladydinner and I’m really looking forward to it. I don’t often get to hang out with people who laugh at my Elizabeth Cady Stanton jokes. “Talk about cankles! Did you know at the end of her life Stanton weighed in at a good 240 pounds?”

Thank you very much, ladies and gentlemen. I’ll be here all night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

